Tuesday, 19 March 2013

8th Jack Daniel’s Annual Rock Awards 2013

Jack Daniel, Rock Awards 2013

Papon, Advaita, Rabbi and Indus Creed vie for top honours

Jack Daniel’s Annual Rock Awards, India’s most prestigious and first music awards to honour achievements in the recording arts and support the Indian music community was held at Mehboob Studios in Mumbai this Friday, February 22, 2013. A total of 14 awards for original music released in the year 2012 were given out at the ceremony. A combination of internet-based popular voting system and a distinguished panel of jury members including artists, music label veterans and respected music journalists determined the winners.

The most prestigious honour of Best Band/Artist of the Year won by Indus Creed carried with it a prize of an all expenses paid trip to attend the Jack Daniel’s Mega Rock Concert in Cambodia. More than 300 entries were received from 83 bands based across the country. Indus Creed was nominated for their new hit album Evolve. Other nominees were Papon for The Story So Far, Thermal And A Quarter for Three Wheels 9 Lives and Swarathma for Topiwalleh. Others in the race included Sridhar/Thayil for STD, Ska Vengers for The Ska Vengers and Split for Counting Perfume. Last year, Pentagram had swept the awards for their 2011 album Bloodywood.

Mandira Bedi
Present at the JD Rock Awards were Riyaaz & Kiran Amlani, Narendra Kumar, Sapna Bhavnani, Mandira Bedi, Monica Dogra, Suchitra Pillai, Siddharth Kanan, Shekhar Ravjiani, Yukta Mookhey, Lekha Washington, Imaad Shah amongst many others.

Winners in the top four categories included Indus Creed for Best Band, Best Album for "Silent Sea" Advaita , Best Emerging Band for SPLIT a were determined by a combination of public voting and a distinguished jury ballot. Vivienne Pocha won Best Female Vocalist and Papon won Best Male Vocalist.

For a decade now, the Jack Daniel’s Annual Rock Awards has played an important role in spotlighting the very best of India’s exponentially growing rock and alternative music scene. “Earlier, rock music was mostly confined to the college campuses.

However, over the past decade there are more venues and clubs that play more live rock music than ever before, more magazines that cover this genre, and even Bollywood has created block busters such as Rock On and Rockstar, which bear ample testimony to the success of the Jack Daniel’s Rock Awards in India,” says Mr Amrit Kiran Singh, Vice President & Area Director, Asia Pacific for Brown-Forman Worldwide, the owners of Jack Daniel’s family of brands.
The journey to the grand finale of the Jack Daniel’s Annual Rock Awards 2012 saw a series of build-up shows at some of the best known rock music venues in the country including CounterCulture in Bengaluru, Hard Rock Café in Delhi and Penthouze in Pune. The build-up Rolling Stone Jam Sessions featured both upcoming artists as well as established musician jamming together. The tour and the finale are being organized in association with Rolling Stone India, the Indian edition of the iconic music magazine.

Jack Daniel’s Annual Rock Awards 2012 Nominees

Best Keyboardist of the Year

Jason Zachariah - Jason Zac Band
Zubin Balaporia - Indus Creed
Jason Zachariah - Allegro Fudge
Stefan Kaye - The Ska Vengers
Anindo Bose - Advaita

Best Bassist of the Year

Jishnu Dasgupta - Swarathma
Roop Thomas - Blakc
Tony Guinard - The Ska Vengers
Shekar Mohite - Split
Gaurav Chintamani - Advaita

Best Female Vocalist of the Year

Tanvi Rao - Sulk Station
Suman Sridhar - Sridhar/Thayil
Samara C - The Ska Vengers
Vivienne Pocha - Vivienne
Gowri Jayakumar - Gowri
Ipshita Roy -Big Bang Blues

Best Male Vocalist of the Year

Angaraag "Papon" Mahanta - Papon
Rabbi Shergill - Rabbi
Uday Benegal - Indus Creed
Chayan Adhikari, Ujwal Nagar, Suhail Yusuf Khan - Advaita
Vasu Dixit - Swarathma
Garreth D'Mello - Split
Bruce Lee Mani - Thermal And A Quarter

Best Guitarist of the Year

Mahesh Tinaikar - Indus Creed
Aviv Pereira & Melroy D'Mello - Split
Baiju Dharmajan - Baiju Dharmajan
Bruce Lee Mani - Thermal And A Quarter
Keshav Dhar - Skyharbor
Praveen Kumar Thiagarajan - Agam

Best Drummer of the Year

Jai Row Kavi - Indus Creed
Rajeev Rajagopal - Thermal And A Quarter
Varoon Aiyer - Split
Ganeshram Nagrajan - Agam
Aman Singh - Advaita

Best Song of the Year Award

Boitha Maro Re - Papon
Ganga - Rabbi
For The Cat - Thermal And A Quarter
Topiwalleh - Swarathma
Fog + Strobe - Blek
Gamapanipa - Advaita
Maeva - Skyharbor
Dissolve - Indus Creed
This Be The Beat - Sridhar/Thayil

Best Album of the Year Award

The Story So Far - Papon
Three Wheels 9 Lives - Thermal And A Quarter
Silent Sea - Advaita
Counting Perfume - Split
Evolve - Indus Creed
The Inner Self Awakens - Agam
STD - Sridhar/Thayil
The Ska Vengers - The Ska Vengers
Topiwalleh - Swarathma

Best Band of the Year

Indus Creed
Thermal And A Quarter
The Ska Vengers
Complete list of Winners at JD Rock Awards 2013
Best producer of the year - Shantanu Hudlikar
Best live music venue of the year - Blue Frog, Mumbai
Best album art of the year - Silent Sea by Advaita and Topiwalleh by Swarathma
Best emerging artist of the year - Blek
Best keyboardist of the year- Jason Zachariah
Best drummer of the year - Jai Row Kavi for Indus Creed
Best guitarist of the year - Bruce Lee Mani for Thermal and a Quarter
Best bassist of the year - Tony Guinard for the Ska Vengers
Best female vocalist of the year - Vivienne Pocha
Best male vocalist of the year - Papon

Best metal band of the year - Skyharbor

Best Song of the year - Boitha Maro re by Papon
Best album of the year - Silent Sea by Advaita
Best Band of the year - Indus Creed

No comments:

Post a Comment